PhD candidates


Jasper G.M. Aarts MSc

High-throughput screening of biomaterials using machine learning

Boris Arts MSc

Feedback-response in supramolecular biomaterials

Bram K. Bakker MSc

Cellular communication via artificial cells and synthetic extracellular matrices

Paul A.A. Bartels MSc

Adhesive biomaterials as the endocardium of an artificial heart

Riccardo Bellan MSc

Supramolecular biomaterials for engineering the cell-material interface

Joyce E.P. Brouns MSc

Dynamic reciprocity in supramolecular biomaterials

Fenna Craenmehr MSc

Protein and peptide conjugation to supramolecular fibers and hydrogels

Roos Y. van Hoffe MSc

Integrating synthetic materials into living systems

Simone M.J. de Jong MSc

A synthetic niche for pluripotent stem cells based on supramolecular materials

Muhabbat I. Komil MSc

Controlled radical polymerization from supramolecular macro-initiators

Esmee de Korver MSc

to be determined

Laura Rijns MSc

Probing the kidney cell – material interface using supramolecular biomaterials

Maritza M. Rovers MSc

Development and screening of synthetic microenvironments for eukaryotic cells

Martin G.T.A. Rutten MSc

Implementation of architectural and mechanical features in supramolecular hydrogels

Victor A. Veenbrink MSc

Developing multifunctional supramolecular materials

Annika F. Vrehen MSc

Biomaterials for a bio-engineered corneal construct


Postdoctoral researchers

Saptarshi Chakraborty PhD

Supramolecular polymeric materials with antimicrobial properties

Dan Jing Wu PhD

Development and valorisation of biomaterials


Master’s students


Petra Aantjes

Petra Aantjes

To be determined

Mike Duijkers

Mike Duijkers

Vitrimers as drug delivery matrices

Sebastiaan de Nijs

Sebastiaan de Nijs

Bioactivated electrospun UPy-based supramolecular polymer meshes for pelvic floor dysfunction

Mathijs van de Waarsenburg

To be determined

Max Walenbergh

Site Specific Unfolding of UPy-Functionalized Single-Chain Polymeric Nanoparticles



Marcel H.P. van Genderen PhD

Associate Professor

Jolanda J.M. Levering




Geert C. van Almen PhD

Peter-Paul K.H. Fransen PhD